Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:54 PM - Tuesday, Nov. 08, 2005
Birthday/Fall
My Birthday Weekend:

I woke up extra early on Saturday morning, even before Greg got home from work. Chugged a Diet Vanilla Coke for a caffeine jolt to get me going. Then jumped�well stumbled into the shower. When I got out I secured my hair in up in the towel, and slathered on my self tanner. While it dried I finished some last minute cleaning. Anyone else clean in the nude? Well, I guess those of yall with kiddos don�t. I only do when I�m home alone. It�s perfect timing really. When my tanner is still wet I can�t really sit on the couch and get comfy because I�d get streaks, so it�s best to be walking around. Anyway, I got my place cleaned up and was dry and dressed by the time Greg got home. By the time we chatted and I got my hair dry and makeup on, it was fairly late into the morning. I needed to run to walmart for some last minute supplies and Trista was still an hour out so off I went. Talk about speed shopping! I normally do not do that. I like to take my time and browse. Trista beat me back to the house by a few minutes. When I got there, Greg was busy helping her get the dog blanket into the wash. Miss Sadie, her doggie, had gotten carsick on the way over. It was Sadie�s first visit to my place and I was happy to have her. She�s a big ol� sweetie pie. She looks like the flying dog off The Neverending Story.

First on the day�s agenda was a trip to the nail salon. We�d both been going au�natural for entirely too long! Manicures in place, French for me, American for her, we headed off to the movies. This time last year she came down to see me and we went to see SAW. It was fitting to keep with tradition and go see SAW II together. We got our popcorn and drinks and headed over to the little guy taking tickets. Well, of course I had lost mine. After some difficult rummaging due to the gigantic drinks and large extra, super buttered popcorn, the said to just go on ahead. I finally found my ticket yesterday in the change pocket of my wallet. I know, WTF? LOL The movie was great! We stopped to pick up my birthday cake, then headed home.

We had a good time getting all dolled up. The bathroom was pretty crowed with the two of us, my two girls and Sadie peaking in from the doorway�hot rollers sizzling, hairspray clouds, and a frenzy of makeup brushes. Soon Natalie arrived. She attempted to do her hair too, but it was just way to crowed and bustling in the bathroom. Of course we weren�t ready when the family arrived. We managed it fairly soon though, hence my forgetting to have pictures taken of me and Trista and Natalie all dolled up and looking spiffy.

Geoff and Becky(my inlaws) had surprised me by bringing Greg�s grandparents, Geoff Sr. and Marianne, with them. It was a great surprise. I just love them! We caravanned over to Red Lobster where Greg�s aunt and uncle, Karen and Richard, were already waiting. We got our table, eventually� Our poor waiter was a little frazzled and kept forgetting things. Toward the end of the meal he tried to take Becky�s plate and she snapped at him. Scared the poor fellow so bad, we thought he was gonna cry, lol! We had such a great time! Trista and I had these gigantic margaritas�yum! Of course she had us all rolling�always does, but get even a tiny bit of booze in her and she is ON! I know I said it before, but really, we had such a great time. It was the best birthday dinner I�ve ever had.

After dinner we headed back over to our apartment for cake and gifts. Here is a list of my loot:

A homemade quilt


2 Cinderella Purses


The Cinderella DVD


A gift certificate


A box of chocolates


The Sugarland CD


An MP3 player


Several cute, funny, and sweet cards

I adored everything, but most of all I just loved that so many people showed up to celebrate with me. I felt very loved.

After everyone else left, I mixed up some Amaretto Sours and Trista, Natalie, and I stayed up yakking till the wee hours.
Sunday morning I got up and made cinnamon rolls for breakfast. Then Trista had to head out. I hated that she had to go so early, but with a 3 hour drive home ahead of her, I didn�t blame her. Football was on so I made my nest for the day in the bedroom. I popped in my new dvd, lit a candle, propped up my pillows and crawled into bed under my fluffy comforter with both my girls, my box of chocolates and a cup of tea. It was a very nice little chunk of ME time. By the time Cinderella lost her slipper on the stairs, I was almost asleep. I had a cozy nap till Greg woke me up a few hours later. We made some homemade chicken soup together and watched some history channel and got in some snuggle time.

It was a great weekend!




I love fall. It is my absolute favorite season. I was driving though my town�s historic residential area this morning and it just took my breath away. The streets are fairly narrow and are lined with huge old trees that form a canopy overhead. The breeze was rustling the leaves on the ground and when I turned one corner, the leaves were floating down all around me like floating bits of gold and red rain�it was beautiful.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!