Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:13 AM - Monday, May. 15, 2006
Not Ready to Make Nice
Hey ya�ll. It�s me. Can�t really say I�m back on this thing, but I had some thoughts I wanted to put down so here I am.

I am a smidge behind. I JUST heard the new Dixie Chicks single last night. Oh my goodness. It gives me chills. It is written in response to the hell that the uber-conservative redneck sections of country music fans and industry put the girls through after Natalie DARED to speak her mind about the war in Iraq. I totally support her right to speak her mind, but it�s not that that touches me so much about the song. The theme speaks like it�s coming straight from my heart. You do what you feel is right and get judged and punished for it because you didn�t do what those bloody uber-conservative/holy roller types THINK you should. When I first listened to the song it brought tears to my eyes at the same time that it pulled my jaw up into that stubborn clench that is practically involuntary when I think about certain things. So I�ve pasted the lyrics here with the parts that grab me the most in italics. The cd is out May 23rd and let me tell you, I�ll be first in line to buy it!


"Not Ready To Make Nice"

Forgive, sounds good
Forget, I�m not sure I could
They say time heals everything
But I�m still waiting

I�m through with doubt
There�s nothing left for me to figure out
I�ve paid a price
And I�ll keep paying

I�m not ready to make nice
I�m not ready to back down
I�m still mad as hell and
I don�t have time to go round and round and round

It�s too late to make it right
I probably wouldn�t if I could
�Cause I�m mad as hell
Can�t bring myself to do what it is you think I should

I know you said
Can�t you just get over it
It turned my whole world around
And I kind of like it

I made my bed and I sleep like a baby
With no regrets and I don�t mind sayin�
It�s a sad sad story when a mother will teach her
Daughter that she ought to hate a perfect stranger
And how in the world can the words that I said
Send somebody so over the edge
That they�d write me a letter
Sayin� that I better shut up and sing
Or my life will be over

I�m not ready to make nice
I�m not ready to back down
I�m still mad as hell and
I don�t have time to go round and round and round
It�s too late to make it right
I probably wouldn�t if I could
�Cause I�m mad as hell
Can�t bring myself to do what it is you think I should

I�m not ready to make nice
I�m not ready to back down
I�m still mad as hell and
I don�t have time to go round and round and round
It�s too late to make it right
I probably wouldn�t if I could
�Cause I�m mad as hell
Can�t bring myself to do what it is you think I should

Forgive, sounds good
Forget, I�m not sure I could
They say time heals everything
But I�m still waiting

Just a few little updates:

I�m happy as can be. :) I�m sure it�s quite annoying, but I don�t really give a damn, hahaha!

Oreo turns sweet sixteen on Thursday. Awwwww. I�ve got to stop by Petsmart today for a doggie birthday cake mix.

My Mother�s Day was lovely. Greg took me out to eat and for my gift, I had my hair done. I am no longer a blond for the first time in over 15 years! It is now light brown with honey and white blond highlights. I just love it! I was nervous because Greg has always loved my hair blond, but I was just so ready for something new. I was worried for nothing cuz he said I�m still sexy as hell even as a light brunette, lol.



 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!